Vidhura’s Prayer

“Anayasena Maranam
Vina dainyena Jeevanam;
Dehi me Krupaya Sambho
Raksha Raksha Maheshwara.”

Of the many slokas that my father recited as part of his daily routine, I noted that he had a distinct difficulty reciting this one. He would invariably slow down his pace, and his voice almost always would choke and it would take a couple of minutes for him to regain his composure. Being the little curious 8 year old girl that I was, I worked up enough courage to ask him why this sloka had this particular effect on him. He answered with a smile that I would understand it only when I get older.
Now I am 63 years of age, and I can honestly say that I am beginning to understand the profound meaning of this sloka. I truly am lucky to have had a father who inculcated into me such profound philosophies at a very tender age and encouraged me to understand its deep interpretations. What more can a mere mortal wish for than to lead an unorphaned life protected throughout by the Lord Almighty and conclude it with a peaceful death?

15 thoughts on “Vidhura’s Prayer

  1. This is an excellent prayer to conclude daily prayer. I have been trying to find the source of this prayanks
    er. But I could not. Let me know if you come across the information.
    Th

    • Thanks.
      My father used to chant this prayer daily. He told me that, Lord Yama said to a sage that this prayer was chanted by Vidhura. Some versions say, Vidhura prayed to Lord Krishna, thus:
      Anaayasena maranam; vinadhinyena jeevanam;
      Dehi me krupaya Krishna; raksha raksha Janardhana.

  2. thanks for this most useful slokha for peacefully departing from this mundane world.i would begin to chant it from today as my concluding prayer.thanks once again

  3. if I am not mistaken it is Drona Sthuthi

    “Anayasena maranam |
    Vina dainyena jivanam ||
    Dehi me krpaya krsna |
    Tvayi bhaktimacancalam.”||

    ( “An end that is peaceful and a life without hardships This is all I ask of you, Krishna and unswerving devotion for you.”)

    • My paternal grand father was a great Sanskrit scholar. We had many palm leaves in our house, later my father gave them to a library. My father told me, this was from a samvadham between Lord Yama and a rishi, and that, Lord Yama told the rishi, Vidura prayed thus. My father lived his full age, Sadayus, and he recited this sloka till his last breath.

  4. Anayasena maranam
    Vina dainyena jeevanam
    Dehimey krupaya Shambho
    Twayi bhaktim achanchalam

    The meaning as heard by me refers to appeal to the Lord to give a peaceful death, a life without any trouble for the basic needs,and total Bhakti to Lord shiva.
    It has to be followed by the Mahamrutnjaya mantras also.
    It was told to a devotee by the late Mahaperiyava. (Shankaracharya )

  5. Anayasena maranam
    Vina dainyena jeevanam
    Dehimey krupaya Shambho
    Anthathah tawa sannidhao

    I found this from unknown text. Thank U

Leave a Reply

